Urban Conservation Area

The National Trust identified a Conservation Area in Wynyard Street surrounding the Courthouse and Police Station in the late 1970’s, with Tumut Shire LEP 1990 Amendment No. 11 identifying further Conservation Areas and heritage items in Tumut, Batlow and Adelong.

These three prescribed town conservation areas identify groups of buildings and places, which individually may not be historically or architecturally significant enough to warrant individual listing, but collectively they contribute to the heritage fabric and character of the area.

This collective listing aims to ensure that the Shire will not lose important connections with its past.  Interesting and unique streetscapes should be maintained contributing towards civic pride and the tourist dollar.

Development Control Plan

Local Environmental Plan